SOUND SUPERVISING

Sound Supervision

Budget evaluation, strategic planning, organization, and selecting the sound team

First and foremost the supervising sound editor is in charge of preparing the budget for the sound based on the creative needs of a project. He acts as a contact and human resource for both the production and the members of the creative sound team. With our team of diverse talents and backgrounds including sound designers, sound editors, sound recordists, Foley artists, and re-recording mixers, we are able to address all sonic elements of a production in a timely manner. Sonomar encourages a decentralized approach to achieving the goals of a production by focusing on remote work to lend flexibility to the scheduling and budgetary constraints of a production. Many of our frequent collaborators have their own sound editing rooms, which have been valuable resources in addition to Sonomar’s existing editing rooms, resulting in a competitive and adaptive infrastructure.

Several collaborative tools are now at our disposal to ensure cohesion and efficiency between team members. Over the last 20 years, we have developed strong links with local post-production facilities in an effort to leverage the strengths of both smaller remote home studios as well as larger recording and mixing studios. It boils down to choosing the right solutions for each project while giving producers and directors the freedom to work with the creative partners of their choice, regardless of corporate affiliation. Through these practices, we encourage and strengthen the bonds that form the foundation of our long term working relationships with our directors and producers, as reflected in our collaborations with Jean-Marc Vallée for his past five films: Black List 1995 C.R.A.Z.Y 2005, The Young Victoria 2009, Café de Flore 2011 and Dallas Buyers Club 2013, and with Daniel Roby for his past three films: La Peau Blanche 2004, Funkytown 2011 and Louis Cyr 2013

Contact us to budget or plan your sound project

info@sonomar.ca

514 573-9976

SOUND DESIGN

Sound Design

Sound effects and ambience editing

With over fifty films to our credit for sound design in both Quebec and the U.S., including big box office releases and indie films alike, Sonomar considers each sound design project in a unique way. The use of a unique and personal sound library, collected gradually over the years, adds specificity and character to the sound design of each production.

A team of regular collaborators consisting of sound designers, sound editors, Foley artist, re-recording mixers, each with multiple and complementary talents, enrich the artistic quality of our projects, allowing the production to complete in a timely manner. Many of our frequent collaborators have their own sound editing rooms which have been valuable resources in addition to Sonomar’s existing editing rooms, resulting in a competitive and adaptive infrastructure.

Repeatedly recognized for the quality of its soundtracks Sonomar frequently receives nominations and sometimes prizes, as was the case this year with the nomination of Best Sound Editing for the film Louis Cyr, the strongest man in the world.

Contact us to budget or plan your sound project

info@sonomar.ca

514 573-9976

SOUND FIELD RECORDING

Sound Field Recording

Unique sound library service
In a swamp in Bâton Rouge
In St-Côme, Québec, after a winter snowfall

Sonomar offers on-demand sound recording and sound library services available for producers and other sound designers. Using our Zaxcom Nomad and an array of stereo microphones (pair of Sennheiser MKH8040, a pair of DPA4060, and a Schoeps M/S)), we are available to make custom recordings for you and your project. One of our favorite tactics is using multiple portable recorders with multi-mic setups from our diverse collection of portable stereo microphones in order to simultaneously capture multiple perspectives of target events.

All of our recordings are outfitted with complete soundminer metadata prior to delivery, so your sounds are packaged and ready for instant use upon receipt.

On the Mississippi River in New Orleans for the film Les Maîtres du Suspense
Contact us to budget or plan your sound project

info@sonomar.ca

514 573-9976

SOUND EFFECTS

Sound Effects

Sound recording and sound collections

What started as a hobby at the early days has gradually become one of the most valuable and prized assets of Sonomar: our sound library. It contains over 10,000 original sounds along with collections of independent and commercial sound libraries that amount to over 136,000 sounds, for which Sonomar holds an exclusive and royalty free license of use in production. These sounds add richness and personality to our productions. Our online sound effects store offers collections of hand selected and crafted sounds: recorded, edited, and thoroughly cataloged with embedded soundminer metadata.

Contact us to budget or plan your sound project

info@sonomar.ca

514 573-9976

DIALOGUE

Dialogue

Source sound conformation, dialog, voice over, and ADR editing

Dialog is one of the most critical storytelling elements of a production, and strangely, one of the least celebrated aspects of audio work. Creating a dialog track that flows smoothly between shots while simultaneously setting the pace and pulse of the film requires a unique blend of skills that is as technical as it is artistic. Sonomar attaches great attention to each detail in the assembly of the dialogue tracks: a prerequisite for a good final result. These services include conforming original sound sources, dialog editing, ADR, and voice over supervising and editing. This is all preceded, of course, by a rigorous evaluation of the dialogues recorded during the shoot, and by preparing of all the necessary documents for any recording sessions. Sonomar manages and oversees the ADR sessions from beginning to end.

Additionally, we have developed an expertise in sound restoration and noise reduction tools, such as IZOTOPE RX3 and WAVES WNS. We conduct targeted sound cleaning in the editing room, which allows us to save a fair amount of dialog from having to be re-recorded in ADR, which is something that is often appreciated by the producer, the post production supervisor, and the director alike.

Contact us to budget or plan your sound project

info@sonomar.ca

514 573-9976

FOLEY

Foley

Mobile and exterior Foley recording and editing

The miniaturization of computer and audio equipment provide many new opportunities that were once only available to full-fledged recording studios. Thanks to the recent advancements in technology and recording practices, we can now offer mobile Foley services, enabling us to convert any indoor or outdoor location into a studio. While much of our Foley is recorded in a studio environment, the freedom to also work outside the confines of the studio has added new colors of natural reverberation and realistic acoustics to our recordings, resulting in final products that take the best of both worlds.

Contact us to budget or plan your sound project

info@sonomar.ca

514 573-9976

SUPERVISON SONORE

Supervision Sonore

Planification, évaluation, organisation, coordination et choix de l'équipe son

Le superviseur sonore prépare le budget sonore en fonction des besoins créatifs d’abord et avant tout, suite à une discussion avec les membres de la production et la lecture du scénario. Il agit en tant que personne ressource aussi bien auprès de la production qu’auprès des membres de l’équipe créative sonore. Une équipe de fidèles collaborateurs concepteurs sonores, monteurs sonores, preneur de sons, bruiteurs et mixeurs, à talents multiples et complémentaires, enrichissent la qualité artistique du projet à sonoriser en plus de permettre à la production de se réaliser dans les délais prescrits. Sonomar encourage une approche de travail décentralisée avec infrastructure légère en misant sur le télétravail pour offrir de la flexibilité aux horaires et aux contraintes budgétaires de la production. Plusieurs outils collaboratifs sont maintenant à notre disposition pour assurer une cohésion entre les membres de l’équipe, peu importe leur lieu de travail.

Nous avons développé, au fil des 20 dernières années, des liens solides avec d’autres compagnies de postproduction locales pour compléter l’offre de service en studios d’enregistrement et en studios de mixage. Il s’agit de choisir les solutions appropriées pour chaque projet en laissant les producteurs et les réalisateurs libres de collaborer avec les partenaires de leur choix, peu importe leur appartenance corporative. Cela est un excellent moyen d’encourager et de valoriser la loyauté entre les réalisateurs et producteurs et les membres de l’équipe du son. Cela permet de construire des complicités durables comme en témoigne une collaboration de 5 films avec Jean-Marc Vallée (Liste Noire 1995, C.R.A.Z.Y 2005, The Young Victoria 2009, Café de Flore 2011 et Dallas Buyers Club 2013), et de 3 films avec Daniel Roby (La Peau Blanche 2004, Funkytown 2011, Louis Cyr 2013), et bien d’autres.

Contactez-nous pour la planification et l'évaluation sonore de votre projet

info@sonomar.ca

514 573-9976

CONCEPTION SONORE

Conception Sonore

Montage des ambiances et des effets sonores

Avec plus d’une cinquantaine de films à son actif en tant que concepteur sonore aussi bien québécois qu’américains, tant pour les champions du Box Office que pour les films indépendants. Sonomar considère chaque projet d’une manière singulière. L’utilisation d’une sonothèque unique et personnelle, acquise graduellement en fonction des besoins et au hasard des déplacements, ajoute de la spécificité et du caractère à la conception sonore des productions.

Une équipe de fidèles collaborateurs concepteurs sonores, monteurs sonores, preneurs de sons, bruiteurs et mixeurs, à talents multiples et complémentaires, enrichissent la qualité artistique du projet à sonoriser en plus de permettre aux productions de se compléter dans les délais prescrits. Plusieurs collaborateurs réguliers possèdent leur propre salle de montage sonore pour compléter l’offre de service procurant une infrastructure légère et compétitive.

Reconnue à maintes reprises pour la qualité de ses bandes sonores, l’équipe de Sonomar reçoit fréquemment des nominations et parfois des prix, comme ce fut le cas cette année avec le Jutra du meilleur montage sonore film pour le film Louis Cyr, l’homme le plus fort du monde.

Contactez-nous pour la planification et l'évaluation sonore de votre projet

info@sonomar.ca

514 573-9976

ENREGISTREMENT SONORE

Enregistrement Sonore

Enregistrement d'effets sonores, collections de sons et service banque de sons originaux
In a swamp in Bâton Rouge
In St-Côme, Québec, after a winter snowfall

Sonomar offre des services de prise de son et de bibliothèque de son originaux pour les producteurs et les autres concepteurs sonores. Grâce à notre Zaxcom Nomad, enregistreur 6 pistes avec timecode et plusieurs microphones stéréo (paire de Sennheiser MKH 8040,paire de Schoeps MS, paire de DPA 4060), nous sommes à votre disposition pour faire des enregistrements personnalisés. Une de nos tactiques favorites est d'utiliser plusieurs enregistreurs portables avec plusieurs configurations de microphones afin de capturer simultanément plusieurs points de vue. Des séances avec multiples collaborateurs et microphones possibles peuvent s’organiser.

Tous nos enregistrements sont équipés de métadonnées de Soundminer et prêts à être utilisés dans votre station de montage dès leur réception.

On the Mississippi River in New Orleans for the film Les Maîtres du Suspense
Contactez-nous pour la planification et l'évaluation sonore de votre projet

info@sonomar.ca

514 573-9976

EFFET SONORE

Effet Sonore

Enregistrement d'effets sonores, collections de sons et service banque de sons uniques.
Ce qui a commencé comme un loisir au début est progressivement devenu un des plus beaux atouts de Sonomar : sa sonothèque. Elle contient maintenant plus de 10 000 sons originaux. avec spécificités locales, aussi bien urbaines et régionales que des espaces naturels d’Amérique du Nord. Plusieurs voyages d’enregistrement, notamment en Europe et aux États-Unis apportent de nombreuses textures sonores typiques à d’autres coins de pays. À cela s’ajoute une collection_ de banques de sons indépendantes et commerciales totalisant 136 000 sons, pour lesquels Sonomar détient une licence d'utilisation exclusive et libre de royautés. Il s’agit d’une belle valeur ajoutée aux projets à sonoriser. Le magasin d’effets sonores en ligne offre des collections de sons avec métadonnées en vente sur le site www.martinpinsonnault.com.

Contactez-nous pour la planification et l'évaluation sonore de votre projet

info@sonomar.ca

514 573-9976

DIALOGUE

Dialogue

Préparation, conformation, montage des dialogues, post synchronisation et narration

La bande dialogue est l'un des éléments les plus délicats de la postproduction sonore, et étrangement, l'un des aspects les plus méconnu et souvent sous-estimé. La construction d'une bande dialogue qui coule en douceur entre les coupes tout en s’ajustant au rythme du film nécessite une harmonisation particulière de plusieurs compétences aussi bien techniques qu'artistiques. Sonomar accorde une grande importance à chacune des étapes de l’assemblage de la bande dialogue. Ces services comprennent la conformation des sources originales du tournage, le montage des dialogues, la supervision de l’enregistrement de la post- synchronisation et des narrations. À cela s’ajoute une évaluation rigoureuse des dialogues du tournage et la préparation des documents pour l’enregistrement de la postsynchronisation dans des studios reconnus.

Nous avons développé une expertise avec des éditeurs de restauration sonore et de réduction du bruit tel IZOTOPE RX3 Advanced et WAVES WNS. Nous effectuons du nettoyage sonore ciblé, en salle de montage, qui diminuent d’autant la durée de la postsynchronisation à enregistrer et le temps de mixage. Ce qui réjouit aussi bien le producteur et le directeur de postproduction que le réalisateur.

Contactez-nous pour la planification et l'évaluation sonore de votre projet

info@sonomar.ca

514 573-9976

BRUITAGE

Bruitage

Enregistrement et recalage du bruitage extérieur et en location

La miniaturisation des équipements informatiques et sonores procure plusieurs nouvelles possibilités qui furent autrefois réservées uniquement aux grands studios d’enregistrement. Nous offrons un service de bruitage mobile et en location qui se transporte facilement dans n’importe quel lieu extérieur ou intérieur choisi. On s’ajuste ainsi aux contraintes budgétaires tout en permettant d’ajouter des particularités de l’acoustique d’un lieu, une nouvelle couleur à la sonorité d’un geste ou d’un bruit, un excellent moyen de se fondre à la sonorité du son original de tournage.

Contactez-nous pour la planification et l'évaluation sonore de votre projet

info@sonomar.ca

514 573-9976